Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: indicator icons

                  
   
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Alexandria VA
    Posts
    180

    indicator icons

    I'm not getting any of the indicator icons for status of threads and forums. It's only happening for this forum, so it's got to be some config item. Any idea what it is?

    This is in Firefox, flashblock and adblock plus installed

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member 1996 328ti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    3,453
    Quote Originally Posted by hoyabmw View Post
    I'm not getting any of the indicator icons for status of threads and forums. It's only happening for this forum, so it's got to be some config item. Any idea what it is?

    This is in Firefox, flashblock and adblock plus installed

    Thanks
    I'm not missing them and unless someone else is, not sure.
    Usually the advice I see it to clear out your cache and do a hard refresh.

    IE uses control F5. Not sure what FF does.
    Try exiting from the NCC site, clear the cache, come back and refresh.

    I did do an upgrade last night and will be doing another one Thursday evening. But I suspect it's a cache issue.
    ...steven
    BMW CCA #146825

    318ti.org | bmwcca.org/forum

  3. #3
    Senior Member mcoupemindy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,931
    I'm on FF with no problems.

    Clear the cache.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Alexandria VA
    Posts
    180
    nope.
    cleared all cache, cookies, and any other saved data, disabled flashblock and adblock.
    Still no icons.

  5. #5
    Senior Member 1996 328ti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    3,453
    Quote Originally Posted by hoyabmw View Post
    nope.
    cleared all cache, cookies, and any other saved data, disabled flashblock and adblock.
    Still no icons.
    You are talking about the graphics below your username and things like need thread?
    ...steven
    BMW CCA #146825

    318ti.org | bmwcca.org/forum

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Alexandria VA
    Posts
    180
    I'm talking about the leftmost column on the overall forums grid and the individual forum grids, and the indicators at the top of every post to the left of the post time. They should have graphics there (yes, I do see them if I log in through IE), but I only see text for some (like Old, Unread), and no graphics.

    I'm not having this problem on bimmerforums, r3vlimited, or e30tech (the only other forums I visit regularly)

  7. #7
    Senior Member 1996 328ti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    3,453
    Quote Originally Posted by hoyabmw View Post
    I'm not having this problem on bimmerforums, r3vlimited, or e30tech (the only other forums I visit regularly)
    They are all using older versions so it could have something to do with the current version. But I run FF on my Mac at home and PC at work.

    I need to update to 3.8.0 Thursday night.
    If after you clear the cache and refresh, I'll take a closer look.
    ...steven
    BMW CCA #146825

    318ti.org | bmwcca.org/forum

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Raleigh NC
    Posts
    307
    So I'm a new user to these forums, but I'm having issues as well. FF on my work PC, home PC, and home mac all cannot see any icons or smilies, and are introducing formatting issues in places. The errors are consistent. I have cleared cache, cookies, and sessions to no avail.

    Using IE the forum renders fine. FF presents issues.
    I'd like to try to help you fix this if you don't mind, as I hate using IE, even if it is IEtab in FF.

    Seems like I'm not the only one judging by other threads.

  9. #9
    Senior Member 1996 328ti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    3,453
    Quote Originally Posted by Reach View Post
    Seems like I'm not the only one judging by other threads.
    Is there anyone else having problems?

    I use Firefox/3.0.6 on my PC deskstop and laptop.
    3.0.6 on my Mac.

    Can you take a screen shot and email me?
    steven@happytogether.com
    ...steven
    BMW CCA #146825

    318ti.org | bmwcca.org/forum

  10. #10
    Senior Member mcoupemindy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,931
    Quote Originally Posted by 1996 328ti View Post
    Is there anyone else having problems?

    I use Firefox/3.0.6 on my PC deskstop and laptop.
    3.0.6 on my Mac.

    Can you take a screen shot and email me?
    steven@happytogether.com
    Steven,

    No problems on this side. I use the triple package too on a daily basis.

    Safari, FF, & IE

  11. #11
    Senior Member 1996 328ti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    3,453
    The only thing I can think of is a utility that blocks images.
    Something like Norton. Perhaps a firewall setting?
    ...steven
    BMW CCA #146825

    318ti.org | bmwcca.org/forum

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Alexandria VA
    Posts
    180
    I can't figure it out. I'm still having the same problems on my work laptop and home laptop, but not on my home desktop. They all have the same version of FF, adblock plus, flashblock. The desktop also has noscript on it (the other 2 don't), but it's the one that works. Cookies are being blocked for most sites, but nccbmwcca.org is allowed (along with all my other forums) All private data has been cleared, and everything is up to date.

    See the attached image for what I'm seeing within a thread.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screenshot.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	31.0 KB 
ID:	698  

  13. #13
    Senior Member 1996 328ti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    3,453
    Let me know now.
    I had hotlinking disabled. Not sure if it would have anything to do with it.
    ...steven
    BMW CCA #146825

    318ti.org | bmwcca.org/forum

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Alexandria VA
    Posts
    180
    That may have gotten it. I'll have to check the laptop at home, but the desktop and work laptop are both working again. Thanks!

  15. #15
    Senior Member 1996 328ti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    3,453
    Quote Originally Posted by hoyabmw View Post
    That may have gotten it. I'll have to check the laptop at home, but the desktop and work laptop are both working again. Thanks!
    If it now works, that is odd.
    I didn't think the hotlink function would cause something like that.
    ...steven
    BMW CCA #146825

    318ti.org | bmwcca.org/forum

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •