View Full Version : 05/19/2019 - 36th Annual Deutsche Marque Concours d'Elegance

John in VA
05-10-2019, 11:43 AM
This is to inform you that the 36th Annual Deutsche Marque Concours d’Elegance will be postponed until Sunday, May 19th, 2019 due to inclement weather. We fully understand that our members have worked very hard to prepare their vehicles for the expressed purpose of showing it in a pleasant environment. We also owe a duty to our wonderful sponsors who have generously contributed their money and time to this special event. We look forward to seeing you on May 19th at the same time at Nottoway Park in Vienna, Virginia. Understand that on the 19th, the event will be held rain or shine.
Porsche and Mercedes-Benz club members must register through their respective clubs.
You must be a current BMW CCA member to register.
There is no charge or need to register to attend the concours as a spectator.

If you have questions on Sunday/day of show please call me (John McWilliams) at 571-699-4404. I will be at Nottoway Park at approximately 8AM.
One of the highlights of our event schedule, and an annual rite of spring for German car fans, is the Deutsche Marque Concours d’Elegance. This year marks the 36th year that we have gathered with our friends from the Greater Washington Section of the Mercedes-Benz Club of America (MBCA) and the Potomac Region of the Porsche Club of America (PCA) for this terrific show. Once again, we have reserved Nottoway Park, located at 9601 Courthouse Road in Vienna, easily reached via Route 66. The park entrance will be marked with large car club banners so that you cannot miss it.

We have some changes planned for this year’s event. A “corral” will be positioned along the entrance to the park to display special cars not being judged. Space will be limited. More vendors are anticipated. The judged entrants from the three marques will be interspersed, allowing visitors the opportunity to see more of the fabulous cars assembled.

In the Deutsche Marque Concours, vehicles are judged by their condition, appearance, and cleanliness. There will be three classes at this event - Street (judged), Meister class (judged - consisting of first-place category winners from the 2018 concours), and Display class (not judged - winner selected by people’s choice balloting). Judges scoring cars in the Street and Meister classes will only judge the tops of the cars, including the exterior, interior, engine bay, storage compartments and chrome, but not the chassis. Street class cars are generally divided into several groups based upon BMW CCA national concours rules.

Please note: Cars produced after 2014 will not be judged, but are welcome to be entered in the Display class, and eligible for the People's Choice and Judges' Choice awards.

Vehicles will be classified into the following categories:

Classics - All Thru 501/2/3/7, 3200, Isetta/600, 700, NK Sedans, 2000C/CS, E3, E9, E12, E21
Second Generation (1980s) – E23 7 Series, E24 6 Series, E28 5 Series, E30 3 Series, and M1
Third Generation (1990s) - E31 8 Series, E32 7 Series, E34 5 Series, E36 3 series, E38 7 Series and Z1/Z3dern 1990s - E36 3 Series, E34 5 Series, E32 7 Series, E31 8 Series and Z3
Fourth Generation (2000s) - E39 5 Series, E46 3 Series, E60 5 Series, E63 6 Series, Z4/Z8
Fifth Generation (2010s) – E65 7 Series, E9x 3 Series, E53/70/71 X5/6, E87 1 Series, F30 and X1 and newer

8:30 AM
Field opens to show participants for placement onto the field.

9:00 AM
General admission begins.

10:00 AM
All cars whose owners wish them to be judged must be registered, and cars placed on the field. If you would like to be judged, PLEASE have your car on the field by 10:00 AM. We do our best to judge everyone consistently and fairly, and can do this best if we have sufficient time. Thank you!

10:30 AM
Judging begins.

2:30 - 3:00 PM
After the judging is completed, scores are tallied, and winners determined, we will announce winners at the wine and cheese reception.

approx. 3:00 PM
Wine and Cheese Reception - Awards for all clubs will be presented at the Wine and Cheese Reception.

Note: The concours is an all-day event. The organizers of all the clubs will be working diligently prior to the show as well as on the day of the event. Please also respect the hard work by the participants who have prepared their cars for the show. If you enter the event, please be prepared to stay through the awards presentation. If your vehicle places in its class and you have departed the field, the award will be given to the next runner-up in class. Further, in order to be fair to all the participants, we need to have sufficient time to judge all the cars consistently and fairly. We can't do that if people show up at 11:30 a.m. and ask to have their cars judged. We're not trying to be difficult, only respecting the efforts many of our club members make to prepare their cars for the concours. Thank you in advance for your cooperation and understanding.

Contact John McWilliams at john.mcwilliams@<hidden> (%6a%6f%68%6e%2e%6d%63%77%69%6c%6c%69%61%6d%73%40%67%6d%61%69%6c%2e%63%6f%6d) if you have any questions.

Register here. (https://www.motorsportreg.com/events/36th-annual-deutsche-marque-concours-d-elegance-nottoway-park-bmw-cca-928279?utm_source=apis&utm_medium=apim&utm_campaign=apic&utm_content=rss)

05-20-2019, 07:46 AM
Congrats on another successful event. The turnout as a great even with the date move due to rain. The weather while hot and humid was an improvement over rain and high winds! On behalf of all the participants I would like to say THANKS for all your efforts in making the day a fun one.


John in VA
05-20-2019, 10:28 AM
Thanks Stephen! I appreciate all for braving the heat and making yesterday's show one of our best. We couldn't do it without our great members. So many M cars this year, including your spotless example.

John in VA
05-30-2019, 05:18 PM
1. Michael Balling - 1979 320i (147.5)
2. Steve Grumbach - 1980 320i (135.5)

1. Shawn Afsharjavan - 1974 2002tii (136.5)

1. Michael Bevels - 1991 318is (148.0)
2. Dan Goldburt - 1990 M3 (141.2)
3. David Strauss - 1991 325i M-Tech (132.7)

1. Scott Housman - 1997 M3 Deluxe (175.0)
2. James Millhiser - 1995 M3 (168.2)
3. Willy Lutz - 1995 M3 (167.2)

1. Stephen DiGiulian - 2002 M5 (175.9)
2. Tina Daiyaan - 2005 M3 (165.8)
3. Frederick Newcomb - 2001 740i Sport (153.3)

1. Mark Elie - 2002 X5 (164.5)
2. Hercules Talastas - 2012 135i MSport (145.5)
3. Joe Geadrities - 2011 335is (128.1)

Meister Class
1. Glenn Fong - 2002 M3 (169.0)
2. Jason Azima - 2013 335i (161.4)
3. Michael Marshall - 1990 M3 (159.5)

People’s Choice: Max Sadeghi - 1972 2002 racer
Judges’ Choice: Wayne Watkins - 1985 735i Euro

Best of Marque: Stephen DiGiulian - 2002 M5

(Awarded to only one car at the concours by a consensus among the BMW, Mercedes-Benz, and Porsche Concours Chairmen):
George Choubah - 1968 Mercedes-Benz 250SL