PDA

View Full Version : What does everyone do for a living?

Jed
08-03-2004, 10:35 PM
Let's fire up this forum a little and spark up some conversation!

I'm a business analyst (also NASD registered/licensed) for a investment firm-I specialize in asset management/institutional trading (buy-side) technology solutions.

Been in finance since I graduated college-started off as a financial planner, worked on a sales desk for a mutual fund company, then worked as a trader for 5 years during the mid to late 90's bull market (where I ate a roll of Tums everyday-seriously!), then went into the technology side of the biz about 5 years ago.

ChosenGSR
08-04-2004, 08:39 AM
Interesting Jed, I am a Programmer downtown Baltmore. I guess I am not too far from what you did/do. I mainly write software/asps dealing with NSCC trading. Graduated UMBC a few months ago.

Pete
08-04-2004, 10:47 AM
I'm a business consultant at a company in Bethesda.

Pete

Maverick
08-04-2004, 11:57 AM
I manage a Target store up here in Aberdeen, MD. Been w/ Target about nine years, prior to that I was in the Marine Corps for 8 yrs.

bren
08-04-2004, 01:10 PM
I work for "the man"

Jed
08-04-2004, 01:49 PM
Interesting Jed, I am a Programmer downtown Baltmore. I guess I am not too far from what you did/do. I mainly write software/asps dealing with NSCC trading. Graduated UMBC a few months ago.

Really! Do you work for a software application company or directly for an investment firm?

There are only 2 real major ones (now that Alex Brown/Deutche Bank has moved to NYC for the most part and any Ops support and developement work is done in Hunt Valley) based out of downtown Baltimore. Used to work for 1 and now working for the other.

ChosenGSR
08-04-2004, 04:15 PM

Really! Do you work for a software application company or directly for an investment firm?