PDA

View Full Version : Wheel bearing tool

Scany
08-15-2006, 11:07 AM
Hi guys,

First I should introduce myself: I'm fairly new to the US and BMWCCA / NCC. My name is Anders and I'm from Norway. Moved over to my Am. girlfriend in March 2005. Have owned two BMW's in Norway, E28 and E34. Now I got a 2000 528i.

So to the point; I think I need to change the front bearings on my car. It makes a rythmic sound while driving and starts to vibrate at higher speed (50+ mph). Looking at zdmak.com for the front wheel bearing tool I see that they want almost $270 for it. Which probably puts me equal to getting it fixed at the dealer (but left with no tool). Is there anywhere I can rent/borrow this tool for the DIY project?

If not I think that must be something that the chapter should arrange. I am getting my 32mm and fan clutch holding tool soon and would gladly share my bmw special tools with fellow BMWCCA members. I guess a deposit would certainly seal the deal :)

chicane
08-15-2006, 03:11 PM
Hi guys,

First I should introduce myself: I'm fairly new to the US and BMWCCA / NCC. My name is Anders and I'm from Norway. Moved over to my Am. girlfriend in March 2005. Have owned two BMW's in Norway, E28 and E34. Now I got a 2000 528i.

So to the point; I think I need to change the front bearings on my car. It makes a rythmic sound while driving and starts to vibrate at higher speed (50+ mph). Looking at zdmak.com for the front wheel bearing tool I see that they want almost $270 for it. Which probably puts me equal to getting it fixed at the dealer (but left with no tool). Is there anywhere I can rent/borrow this tool for the DIY project?

If not I think that must be something that the chapter should arrange. I am getting my 32mm and fan clutch holding tool soon and would gladly share my bmw special tools with fellow BMWCCA members. I guess a deposit would certainly seal the deal :)